‘Pigeon Chasing’. My return to #fridayflash

It’s been a long while, but I’m finally getting myself back into my writing groove. Moving house (country) sapped my fiction juices away for the duration; I feel they might be returning. Whether they are back to pre-move levels or not remains to be seen (read).

I am marking my return with a very short flash fiction piece for #fridayflash. Other #fridayflash contributors were asking where I’d got to. I’m still here and thank you for asking after me. Comments always welcome.

Pigeon Chasing

Image from google images

When Robert was a toddler he discovered that chasing pigeons was more fun than almost anything else. His aunt, something of a self-taught psychotherapist, assumed his behaviour was an effort to escape the over-bearing clutches of her sister-in-law; but in truth, in was all about the birds.

Robert continued to chase pigeons with an escalating degree of intensity, often resulting in painful collisions: town-square fountains, bicycles, and thorny shrubs, for example.

During a family outing to a picturesque fishing harbour – one famed locally for the quality of its crab cakes sold from a pier-end shack – Robert chased the most beautiful pigeon he’d ever seen. He chased its metallic iridescence along the harbour wall. He chased as he’d never chased before. He chased, ignoring his mother’s anguished shrieks and his father’s stern commands. He chased with increasing joy; joy which rose within him as he neared the terminal velocity of a nine year old.

Unable to perform the bird’s last minute aerial manoeuvre, Robert chased his elation over the edge, plunging into the ocean.

Within moments, he found the close deafness of the water a comforting change from the endless noises and voices he was used to enduring, and so, quite reasonably, he resolved to remain under.

 Briefly distracted from his efforts to stay submerged by the distorted image of a pigeon flying just above the waves, Robert was reminded of his new aquatic ambition by the flickering lustre of a passing school of mackerel.

With any luck, he thought, kicking down into the depths, I’ll develop gills of my own.

© flyingscribbler 2013

17 comments on “‘Pigeon Chasing’. My return to #fridayflash

  1. I’m not sure if this is sweet or tragic, maybe a bit of both. 🙂

  2. Delightful, loved the ending! Now the question is did he drown or did he develop those gills ^_^

  3. timvansant says:

    Well you’ve certainly made a splash with your return! [sorry] Nice work.

  4. jcollyer says:

    This is brilliant 🙂

  5. marc nash says:

    I think they thing I liked most about this was the comparison of the shimmering incandescence of the pigeon’s colouring & that of mackerel. I almost think you could if you wanted to expand this further into probing the boy’s relationship with light & colour, even if he himself is not conscious of it. Good stuff and welcome back (just as I’m about to take a prolonged break from friday flash!)

    • The comparison seemed important as I was writing it, and you are right…I felt it could be probed more deeply too. That is just typical. I make a return and you do the opposite. Shame, because I really enjoy your stories and their use if language.

  6. mgideon says:

    Welcome back! I thoroughly dug this piece, no more so than, like marc said, the comparison between the pigeon and mackerel. Oddly enough, while for the most part I was caught up in the joy of Robert’s running around, there did seem to be a hint of melancholy just beneath. Could be me, though. Regardless, well done!

  7. This reminds me of some of the autistic students I work with – they become captivated by light, dust motes, sounds, and probably things I can’t even see. They pursue them without fear, and I often wish that I knew more about how they experience our world. Nice to see you back!

  8. Sonia Lal says:

    I think he’s a budding merboy!

  9. Icy Sedgwick says:

    I actually find the ending a little sad…

  10. Integral says:

    Great stuff. I found your blog after reading Dandelion Breeze on the Flash 500 website. I think you’re talented, and you remind me of me (apart from the talented bit). So I think I’ll have a bit of a stickybeak around, if that’s okay.

    Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

